People and partners

PharmaFutures explores the key trends reshaping healthcare and the circumstances under which innovation can be harnessed to improve productivity and efficiency in health systems. The dialogue focuses on three geographies: Europe, Emerging Economies, the United States and concludes with a global overview.

PharmaFutures Working Group 2012

  • Stewart Adkins, Stewart Adkins Advisors Ltd, Director
  • Mark Becker, Healthcare Analyst, Fidelity International
  • Dr Scott Braunstein, Managing Director, JP Morgan Asset Management
  • Joel Emery, Vice President Analyst, Fred Alger Management Inc.
  • Charlotte Ersbøll, Corporate Vice President, Global Stakeholder Engagement, Novo Nordisk
  • Dr Jane Griffiths, Company Group Chairman, Janssen Pharmaceuticals EMEA, Johnson & Johnson
  • Graham Hetherington, Chief Financial Officer, Shire plc
  • Natasha Landell-Mills, Senior Analyst, USS
  • Prof Sir Michael Rawlins, Chariman, NICE
  • Valerie Paris, Economist, Health Division, OECD
  • Dr Jack Scannell, Head of Discovery Research, e-Therapeutics PLC
  • John Schaetzl, Industry Commentator, Independent
  • Dr Ad Schuurman, President, MEDEV
  • Dan Summerfield, Co-Head Responsible Investment, USS
  • Phil Thomson, Senior Vice President, Global Communications, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Dr Giorgia Valsesia, Healthcare Analyst, SAM Research AG
  • Stijn Vanacker, Analyst Global Healthcare, Robeco

European Workshop Additional Participants

  • Dr Rafael Bengoa, Minister for Health and Consumer Affairs in the Basque Country, Basque Government
  • Dr Anna Bucsics, Vice Department Head, Department of Pharmaceuticals, Association of Austrian Social Security Institutions
  • Dr Angela Coulter, Director of Global Initiatives, Foundation for Informed Medical Decision-making
  • Thomas Heynisch, Deputy Head of Unit, DG Enerprise and Industry, European Commission
  • Dr Alison Hill, Managing Director, Solutions for Public Health
  • Bo Wesley, Senior Specialist, Innovation and Effectiveness, Novo Nordisk

Emerging Economies Workshop Additional Participants

  • Dr Kalipso Chalkidou, Director, NICE International
  • Sabine Dandiguian, Managing Director, Emerging Markets, Janssen EMEA, Johnson & Johnson
  • Dylan Jackson, Strategy Director for EMAP, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Dr Sun Jing, Senior Researcher, National Institute of Hospital Administration, Ministry of Health, China
  • Dr Hannah Kettler, Senior Program Officer and Economist, Industry Relations, Global Health Office of the President, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Dr Richard Laing, Medical Officer, Policy Access and Rational Use, World Health Organisation
  • Duncan Learmouth, Senior Vice President, Developing Countries and Market Access, EMAP, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Laurence McGrath, Executive Director, Healthcare Equity Analyst, JP Morgan Asset Management
  • Bo Wesley, Senior Specialist, Innovation and Effectiveness, Novo Nordisk
  • Dr Prashant Yadav, Director, Healthcare Research, University of Michigan

US Workshop Additional Participants

  • Jack Bailey, Senior Vice President, Policy, Payers & Vaccines, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Dave Domann, Director Health Care Quality, Johnson & Johnson
  • Chris McGowen, Director of Government Affairs, Novo Nordisk
  • Dr Neil Minkoff, Founder, Fountainhead Health
  • Penny Mohr, Senior Vice President, Program Development, Center for Medical Technology Policy
  • Dr Roger Ray, Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Carolinas HealthCare System
  • Norman Selby, Executive Chairman, Real Endpoints
  • Mark Skinner, President/ CEO, Institute for Policy Advancement




The structured, two-way communication enabled by PharmaFutures helps to improve levels of trust, understanding and a greater alignment of interest between investors and pharmaceutical executives.

Daniel Summerfield, USS